

Addendum for a Meeting of Classis Hamilton of the Christian Reformed Church May 31, 20221 – 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Hosted by Ebenezer CRC

139 Talbot St. E, Jarvis.

(Agenda)

1. Delegates & Alternates

Church	Deacon	Elder	Pastor
Ancaster CRC	Ken Kerssies	Andrea Glasbergen	Rev. Mark Verbruggen
Bethel CRC, Waterdown	Christine Schaafsma	Adriana Traas	
Calvary CRC, Flamborough	Benj Vandermeulen	Justin DeWaard	Rev. Gareth Harker
Calvin CRC, Dundas	Ben Lammers	Ken Tigchelaar	Rev. Ken Benjamins
Ebenezer CRC, Jarvis	Leo Eggink	Pete Brouwer	Rev. Wim de Vries
Faith CRC, Burlington	Jamie Buisman Alt. Chris Dorsman	Vivian Vanderhoek Alt. Matthew Valkenburg	Rev. Cara DeHaan
First Hamilton CRC	Theresia Stephens Alt. Yvette Schat	George Van Kampen	Rev. Hayden Regeling
Hagersville Community CRC		Jake Elgersma	
Hope CRC, Brantford			
Immanuel CRC, Hamilton		David Rumph Alt. Arthur Bosua	Rev. Michael Bootsma
Immanuel CRC, Simcoe	Ed Cosman	Mark VanderVliet	Elder Theresa Bakker
Maranatha CRC, York		Frank Riewald	Rev. Ben Ponsen
Meadowlands Fellowship CRC	Marcia Hosmar Alt. Joanne Spoelstra	Connie Bijl Alt. Jolene Veenstra	Rev. Everett Vander Horst
Mount Hope Community CRC New Street CRC,	Sandi Buwalda Alt. Neil Roth	Paul Vreugdenhil Alt. Mark Demik	Rev. Joel Bootsma
Burlington New Hope Church, Hamilton (Emerging Church)			Rev. Steve Dykstra

2. Covenant of Office Bearers

- 3. Orientation for Delegates
- 4. Updated Consent Agenda

A consent agenda allows Classis to approve the items below together without discussion or individual motions. Items may be removed from the consent agenda on the request of

(See link)

(See link)

the delegates. Removed items may be taken up either immediately after the consent agenda or placed later on the agenda at the discretion of the Chair.

- a. Classis Meeting Minutes: <u>2-22-22</u> & <u>3-10-22</u>
- b. Classis Interim Committee (CIC) Minutes: <u>3-3-22</u> & <u>4-21-22</u>
- c. TBD elected to first term as Church Visitor (nominations sought)
- d. Syd Hielema confirmed as Regional Pastor
- e. Ed Visser elected to first term as Synodical Deputy and Michael Bootsma elected to first term as Alternate
- f. Doug Nieuwstraten elected to first term and Tara Vreugdenhill elected to second term on CMT
- g. Hayden Regeling and Jessica Joustra elected to second term on Candidacy Committee; Rick Verkerk and Cheryl Wimmers elected to first term on Candidacy Committee
- h. Rick Verkerk elected to first term on Home Missions Committee
- i. Michael Bootsma elected to Chair of Classis for the period June 1, 2021 until May 31, 2022.
- j. William Koopmans, Ken Tigchelaar, Marcia Hosmar, Ken Benjamins and Ben Ponsen as a single slate of nominees to serve as directors of the corporation to be elected during the annual meeting of members later in the day
- k. Disbursements of Candidacy funds as detailed in the Candidacy Committee Report
- I. Denominational Correspondence Received for Information (see Addendum for additional reports)
 - i. World Renew Spring Report
 - ii. <u>Spring Classis Letter</u> from Terry Veldboom Acting Executive Director (Canada)
 - iii. Redeemer University Spring Report
- 5. Study Committee Report Youth Champion Position
- 6. Ministry Reports

(See link)

(See links)

- a. Classis Interim Committee
- b. Candidacy Report
- 7. Shawn Brix will bring a report from Calvin Seminary after the lunch break

Link back to the <u>Agenda</u>